Soothed by Thrills…

Have you ever felt thrilled and soothed at the same time? Well, I tried sky-diving a few days ago. Although the whole experience merits a separate descriptive post, there is one point I want to distinctively mention here.  The diving experience was by far the most thrilling and the most soothing experience that I have ever had, both at the same time.

IMG_6787 - CopyWhy thrilling? That is easy to explain – the adrenaline rush that I stood at the door of the plane, how I got goosebumps the size of actual bumps on geese when I saw people jumping before me hurling spirally downwards, the anticipation I  felt as I was about to jump off a plane, the jolt of excitement during the jump itself, and the whole idea of being 14,000 feet above the ground with a parachute and an instructor –  thrilling to the core!

Why soothing? Well, for three reasons… One, after I jumped and hurled downwards and posed for photos mid-air, I felt the parachute opening – that is an extremely soothing feeling, you all shall agree! :P Two, after the parachute jerked open, and I adjusted my body and my safety straps, I got to experience about 5-10 minutes of serene silence and beautiful panoramicIMG_6818 - Copy views until I landed. Viewing the beautiful landscape while slowing descending felt surreal, and very soothing. And last but not the least, when I took off the parachute straps, harness, and the jumping gear and sat down (yeah, sky-diving is exhausting!), the success – the feeling that finally I had done what I always dreamed of doing, made me feel so content, so happy! It was like a perfectly soothing balm on all my aches and worries! :) And all this while, the thrill of the whole experience didn’t leave me for a single moment!

Truly, sometimes soothing and thrills are the two sides of the same coin. Like someone said,

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I open my window, drops of rain fall on my face

I am soothed by their touch,  and thrilled by the freshness…

When a  cold gush of wind blows into my hair,

I am thrilled by its suddenness and soothed by the cool air…

Like a girl in a ballroom,

Waiting long to be asked to dance…

Arrives the nicest guy and chooses her,

She is both thrilled and soothed by the chance!

Jumping in the pool on a hot day in summer…

Climbing a tall mountain and looking down from it,

Winning a prize you have been missing out on for long

Oh, how thrills and soothing together belong!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Have you experienced anything like this? Do let me know! :)

Leave a Reply

